Question - Internet connections

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Ian948

Ian948

• Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 12 May 2013 - 09:50 AM

Can anyone advise how the internet connection situation is locally , I am a newbie considering moving to the area next year.

I have heard possibilities ranging from No service in some areas to fibre optic in some areas ?

Any information will be appreciated.

Thank you

Ian

San Carlos , MX.
  • soymbonoryday likes this

#2 Robi

Robi

Dedicated Contributor

• PipPipPipPip
  • 225 posts

Posted 12 May 2013 - 09:53 AM

I have Tel Mex. We have Wi Fi which serves three apartments and our house and it works well.

#3 David T

David T

Expert Contributor

• JBay Life Team
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 679 posts
  • LocationGuayabitos, Mexico & Saint Paul, Minnesota

Posted 12 May 2013 - 01:26 PM

Robi is correct. TelMex pretty much serves almost everyone with a telephone line that has Infinitum (internet) optional.
David Thompson
Co-Founder, JaltembaBayLife.com

Jaltemba Bay Folk Forum is sponsored by JaltembaBayLife.com, a community website for the villages of Rincón de Guayabitos, La Peñita, Los Ayala and La Colonia as well as the neighboring towns, and includes maps, calendar, travel tips, activities, restaurants, vacation rentals and real estate

#4 bob

bob

Contributor

• PipPipPip
  • 63 posts

Posted 12 May 2013 - 08:14 PM

It can be very slow at times each day.

#5 Ken & Bea

Ken & Bea

Dedicated Contributor

• PipPipPipPip
  • 266 posts

Posted 13 May 2013 - 04:14 AM

Our experience has been that download speed has averaged around 1.5-1.7 kilobits per second--not fast, but pretty reliable. Maybe there is a higher-speed package available, or maybe it's faster during the non-tourist season when there is less traffic.

#6 cathouse

cathouse

Contributor

• PipPipPip
  • 62 posts

Posted 20 May 2013 - 02:23 PM